B. Pattabhi Sitaramayya
1880 - 1957

                                       Sitaramayya's Timeline



Early Life:

Pattabhi Sitaramayya was born on 24th November 1880 in Andhra Pradesh. He was educated in Madras with a medical degree. He was a practicing doctor from Masulipatnam in Andhra Pradesh, where most of his activism for the independence movement was centred.


Involvement in India’s Independence Movement:

Giving up his medical practice, he became a member of the All India Congress Committee in 1916. 

His contribution to India's freedom struggle include: member of Home Rule movement, led the Salt Saytagraha movement in Masulipatnam, participated in Gandhi's individual Satyagraha in 1941, participated in Quit India movement. He advocated for complete independence for India and was the president of Andhra Purna Swaraj Sangam. 


He set up Andhra Bank, as well as an English weekly publication, the Janmabhumi, in 1919, which functioned till 1930. He was elected President of the Indian National Congress in the Jaipur Session in 1948.


Key Role in Constitution Making:

He was elected to the Constituent Assembly from Madras province in 1946 under Indian National Congress ticket and served in the Constituent Assembly between 1946 to 1949. In the Constituent Assembly he was the Chariman of Committee on Chief Commissioner’s Provinces. 


Post Independence Role: 

He served as the Governor of Madhya Pradesh from 1952 to 1957.


Key Writings: 

He is referred to as the 'historian of Indian National Congress' and has written ‘History of the Indian National Congress’ (Two volumes, in 1935 and 1947). His other works include: ‘Indian Nationalism’ (1913), 'The Redistribution of Indian Provinces on a Linguistic Basis' (1916), 'Non-Cooperation' (1921). 


Sitaramayya passed away on December 17th, 1959.


  1. Chairman, Committee on Chief Commissioner’s Provinces;
  2. Member, Rules of Procedure Committee;
  3. Member, Ad hoc Committee on the National Flag;
  4. Member, States Committee;
  5. Member, Union Powers Committee;
  6. Member, Provincial Constitutional Committee