Rajendra Prasad
1884 - 1963

Dr. Rajendra Prasad was the President of the Constituent Assembly and the first President of independent India. He was only President to have been re-elected for a second term and served for a total of twelve years.

A lawyer by training, Prasad gave up his legal career to join the independence movement in 1920 and was imprisoned during the Salt Satyagraha in 1931 and the Quit India movement in 1942. He was a member of the Indian National Congress from 1911 and served thrice as its President.

He is also a Bharat Ratna awardee and has written extensively on the Indian independence movement. Prasad moved to Patna after his Presidency where he lived at Bihar Vidyapeeth, a school he started in order to boycott British educational institutions during the independence movement.

  1. President, Constituent Assembly;
  2. Chairman of:
  • Rules of Procedure Committee;
  • Steering Committee;
  • Finance and Staff Committee and, 
  • Ad Hoc Committee on the National Flag.